Starting this past Monday, Facebook started to inform users if their data may have been shared with Cambridge Analytica.
The social media company is informing affected users at the top of “News Feeds.” The alert, titled “Protecting Your Information,” will be visible to users whose information was accessed by a third-party website and potentially shared with Cambridge Analytica. Facebook will direct those users to a “See How You’re Affected” tool.
Facebook will provide other users with a different link that identifies which apps are connected to their accounts. Users have the option of prohibiting apps from accessing their data.